ETR’s Dr. Douglas Kirby Awarded American Public Health Association’s Highest Honor

ETR’s Dr. Douglas Kirby Awarded American Public Health Association’s Highest Honor

Scotts Valley, CA. The American Public Health Association (APHA) announced in today’s  issue of The Nation’s Health that the late Dr. Douglas Kirby, Senior Scientist at ETR in Scotts Valley CA, has been posthumously awarded the APHA 2013 Sedgwick Memorial Medal.  In conferring this award upon Dr. Kirby, the APHA Awards Committee acknowledged his overall contributions to the broader field of public health and public health education, as well as his significant and substantial contributions to health promotion.

About Dr. Douglas Kirby: For more than 30 years, Dr. Douglas Kirby directed statewide and nationwide studies of adolescent sexual behavior, abstinence programs, sexuality and STD/HIV education programs, school-based clinics, school condom-availability programs and youth development programs.  He co-authored research on ETR's Reducing the Risk, Safer Choices, Draw the Line and All4You! All of these curricula significantly reduced sexual risks for youth by delaying sex, reducing the number of partners, increasing condom use or increasing contraceptive use. Dr. Kirby has been honored by the American Association of Sex Educators, Counselors and Therapists; the American School Health Association; the California Alliance Concerned with Teenage Parenting and Pregnancy Prevention; the Healthy Teen Network; the National Organization for Adolescent Pregnancy Prevention and Planning; the South Carolina Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy; and the Society for the Scientific Study of Sex.

About the Sedgwick Memorial Medal:  The Sedgwick award, one of the highest honors bestowed by APHA, is a true accolade of the profession – the recognition by an individual’s colleagues of outstanding accomplishments in the field of public health. Since 1929, the Sedgwick Memorial Medal has been awarded by APHA for distinguished service and advancement of public health knowledge and practice. It was established in honor of the late Professor William Thompson Sedgwick, president of APHA in 1915 and head of the Department of Biological and Public Health at Massachusetts Institute of Technology from 1883 to 1921.

To learn more about Dr. Douglas Kirby, the Sedgwick Memorial Medal or ETR please contact:  Matt McDowell, Director of Marketing at ETR.

Sign up for the ETR Health Newsletter.

Social Media :

  • YouTube
  • LinkedIn
  • Twitter
  • Facebook